Dear Diary PAPERBACK


Availability: Out of stock

$14.00

We're sorry but this item is out of stock. In some cases, we may have a rare copy of the book you're trying to order. Please email us: info@powerhousebooks.com


Be the first to review this product


ISBN-13: 1000321

by Lesley Arfin
Introduction by Chloë Sevigny

Paperback, 5.25 x 7.125 inches, 288 pages, 50 photographs
and illustrations

ISBN: 978-1-57687-440-0

Memoir / Teen / Recovery
by Lesley Arfin Introduction by Chloë Sevigny Paperback, 5.25 x 7.125 inches, 288 pages, 50 photographs and illustrations ISBN: 978-1-57687-440-0 Memoir / Teen / Recovery

Following a remarkable run in its singular hardcover format (over 20,000 copies in print after two printings) and having captured a devoted fan base that continues to grow, Dear Diary arrives in trade paperback.

Within only several months of its release, this highly acclaimed title reached thousands of readers who sparked enthusiastic discussions on MySpace Books, was covered exhaustively on teen and literary blogs alike, and repeatedly hit the top of numerous must-read lists at Amazon. With glowing reviews from national publications like Jane and Paper magazines, who have generated an electrifying buzz with praise of its unique sensibility and sincerity, Dear Diary is undoubtedly on its way to becoming a teen classic in the vein of Go Ask Alice and The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

“…this is the best concept for a book ever…. It’s an inspiring trip from her middle school mean-girl days to the college student/hardcore heroin addict to today’s rehabilitated, awesome woman…. Dear Diary is totally going to be the next Go Ask Alice….”
Jane

When Arfin wrote about Sheryl Rosenthal (it’s funny how you remember everyone’s first and last name like that) making her feel “retarded” back in sixth grade, the world was a dark, lonely place and she could see no light at the end of the tunnel. When she discovered heroin, things got even worse. Today, with the perspective only rock bottom can give you, Lesley looks back at the apocalypse that was adolescence and asks, “What the hell was I talking about?”

“It’s Please Kill Me meets Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret, and it’s as addictively delicious as a tube of Pringles.”
Paper

This book is a collection of a girl’s funniest diary entries from 12 to 25 years old. She updates each entry by tracking down the people involved and asking awkward questions like, “Do you remember when I tried to beat you up?” Sometimes old friends apologize. Sometimes they become new enemies. No matter who she talks to about the days when we all discovered sex, drugs, and rock n’ roll, one thing becomes abundantly clear: boys are totally immature.

“Here’s your chance to have all the benefits of a tortured adolescence without the shitty childhood. Congratulations!”
—Sarah Silverman

Lesley Arfin was born in Long Island, NY in 1979. She graduated with a BA from Hampshire College in 2001. Besides writing the “Dear Diary” column in Vice, she has written a number of other articles for the magazine, including “The Vice Guide to Guilty Pleasure” and “The Vice Guide to Finding Yourself,” both of which appeared in The Vice Guide to Sex and Drugs and Rock and Roll. Her work has also appeared in Jane, i-D, Nylon, Paper, and Fashion Now 2 (Taschen, 2005). She lives in New York City.