Book Launch: Delayed Rays of a Star by Amanda Lee Koe in conversation with Ben Metcalf

Book Launch: Delayed Rays of a Star by Amanda Lee Koe in conversation with Ben Metcalf

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Amanda Lee Koe’s playful, wry prose guides the reader dexterously around murky questions of ego, persona, complicity, desire, and difference. Intimate and raw, Delayed Rays of a Star is a visceral depiction of womanhood–its particular hungers, its calculations, and its eventual betrayals–and announces a bold new literary voice.

Joint Book Launch: The Color Inside a Melon by John Domini & The Good Mother of Marseille by Christopher X. Shade

Joint Book Launch: The Color Inside a Melon by John Domini & The Good Mother of Marseille by Christopher X. Shade

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

A reading and discussion featuring John Domini and Christopher X. Shade’s new titles.

Book Launch: The Completionist by Siobhan Adcock

Book Launch: The Completionist by Siobhan Adcock

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

In the tradition of The Handmaid’s Tale, The Completionist is speculative fiction at its very best: imaginative and propulsive, revealing our own world in bold and unexpected ways.

Princeton Alumni Reading and Career Conversation with Joanne Ramos and Rachel Lyon

Princeton Alumni Reading and Career Conversation with Joanne Ramos and Rachel Lyon

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Princeton University alumnae novelists Joanne Ramos ‘95 and Rachel Lyon ‘05 will talk about their writing careers and read excerpts from their recently released work.

Books Beneath the Bridge with Marcy Dermansky & Julia Phillips

Books Beneath the Bridge with Marcy Dermansky & Julia Phillips

Granite Prospect at Brooklyn Bridge Park

Experience two essential new female voices while overlooking the iconic New York skyline at our annual Books Beneath the Bridge reading series! This year POWERHOUSE presents Marcy Dermansky & Julia Phillips. The outdoor event will feature a reading, followed by an audience Q&A and book signing.

Dumbo Lit Book Club: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Dumbo Lit Book Club: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Join us in the Dumbo Lit Book Club, where we’ll be reading and discussing the acclaimed memoir BECOMING by Michelle Obama.

With our cozy, swanky new lounge area, catching up on the latest books with your neighbors has never been so fun or easy.

Members get a 15% discount for purchase of the book club book at POWERHOUSE ARENA.

Book Launch: Vincent and Alice and Alice by Shane Jones

Book Launch: Vincent and Alice and Alice by Shane Jones

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

From the visionary author of Light Boxes, a mind-bending office comedy, and a touching modern love story set against the backdrop of an ever-increasingly disorienting America.

Book Launch: Strange Stars by Jason Heller

Book Launch: Strange Stars by Jason Heller

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

In Strange Stars, Jason Heller recasts sci-fi and pop music as parallel cultural forces that depended on one another to expand the horizons of books, music, and out-of-this-world imagery.

Book Launch: On The Clock by Emily Guendelsberger in conversation with Jessica Bruder

Book Launch: On The Clock by Emily Guendelsberger in conversation with Jessica Bruder

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

The bitingly funny, eye-opening story of a college-educated young professional who finds work in the automated and time-starved world of hourly labor.

The Final Unpublishable

The Final Unpublishable

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

UNPUBLISHABLE is art that excites you, that scares you, things that you delete from your browser history. The piece you can’t submit but can’t stop thinking about either, burning a hole in the bottom of your desk drawer. Writing from any genre that is uncharacteristic, outré, or offending of sensibilities, that is impossible to place or be published in some fashion.

Book Launch: The Blue Period by Luke Jerod Kummer in conversation with Nellie Hermann

Book Launch: The Blue Period by Luke Jerod Kummer in conversation with Nellie Hermann

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

A riveting novel about the tragic romance that nearly destroyed a young Pablo Picasso—while granting him his first flight of creative genius. The author will be in conversation with Nellie Hermann, author of THE SEASON OF MIGRATION, about a young Van Gogh.

Paperback Launch: Shook One by Charlamagne Tha God

Paperback Launch: Shook One by Charlamagne Tha God

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Charlamagne Tha God, New York Times bestselling author of Black Privilege and always provocative cohost of Power 105.1’s The Breakfast Club, reveals his blueprint for breaking free from your fears and anxieties.

Book Launch: The Dearly Beloved by Cara Wall

Book Launch: The Dearly Beloved by Cara Wall

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Charles and Lily, James and Nan. They meet in Greenwich Village in 1963 when Charles and James are jointly hired to steward the historic Third Presbyterian Church through turbulent times. Their personal differences however, threaten to tear them apart.

Book Launch: Toxic Femininity in the Workplace by Ginny Hogan

Book Launch: Toxic Femininity in the Workplace by Ginny Hogan

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Using her infectious, disarming wit, NYC comedian and writer Ginny Hogan breaks down the organized chaos that is office gender politics in TOXIC FEMININITY IN THE WORKPLACE.

Book Talk: Bottle of Lies by Katherine Eban

Book Talk: Bottle of Lies by Katherine Eban

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Over ten years, across four continents and more than 240 interviews, investigative journalist and Fortune contributor Katherine Eban has uncovered nothing less than a public health crisis, in Bottle of Lies: The Inside Story of the Generic Drug Boom.

Book Launch: I've Seen The Future and I'm Not Going by Peter McGough

Book Launch: I've Seen The Future and I'm Not Going by Peter McGough

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

A memoir of New York in the 1980s and 1990s–a time of both enormous creativity and decadence–told by an artist who was at the center of it all, including the AIDS epidemic, and survived to tell the story.

Book Launch: I Will Destroy You by Nick Flynn

Book Launch: I Will Destroy You by Nick Flynn

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Beginning with a poem called “Confessional” and ending with a poem titled “Saint Augustine,” I Will Destroy You interrogates the potential of art to be redemptive, to remake and reform. But first the maker of art must claim responsibility for his past, his actions, his propensity to destroy others and himself.

Book Launch: How To Start A Revolution by Lauren Duca

Book Launch: How To Start A Revolution by Lauren Duca

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Teen Vogue award-winning columnist Lauren Duca shares a smart and funny guide for challenging the status quo in a much-needed reminder that young people are the ones who will change the world.

Book Launch: Sweat the Technique by Rakim

Book Launch: Sweat the Technique by Rakim

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

The musician and Hip Hop legend—hailed as “the greatest MC of all time” and compared to Thelonious Monk—reimagines the writing handbook in this memoir and guide that incorporates the soulful genius, confidence, and creativity of a master artist.

Book Launch: In Jerusalem by Lis Harris

Book Launch: In Jerusalem by Lis Harris

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

A fresh lens on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict that examines the life-shaping reverberations of wars and ongoing tensions upon the everyday lives of families in Jerusalem.

Book Launch: Bernard Pepperlin by Cara Hoffman

Book Launch: Bernard Pepperlin by Cara Hoffman

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

When a girl in a blue dress crashes the Mad Hatter’s eternal tea party, the sleepy Dormouse feels more awake than he has in a long time. He wishes he could follow her and be a part of her adventure.

Book Launch: Indebted by Caitlin Zaloom

Book Launch: Indebted by Caitlin Zaloom

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

College is essential for middle class families, but it is now so expensive that they must turn to investment and debt to cover it. In INDEBTED, NYU Professor Caitlin Zaloom examines how the problem of paying for college affects the lives, relationships, and futures of middle-class parents and young adults. Based on a unique interview study of parents and their college-age children, INDEBTED shows how student debt and the system for financing higher education have transformed family life.

Book Launch: CBD! by Amy Sohn

Book Launch: CBD! by Amy Sohn

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

CBD has insinuated itself into every aspect of our lives, from body oil to pet food. The cannabis derivative cannabidiol is an omnipresent cure-all that has gone from being “voguish” to “a mainstream panacea,” as The New York Times recently noted. And it’s a particular favorite of the crowd endemic to Brooklyn, the Bay Area and other similar urban environs.

Book Launch: The Chapo Guide To Revolution by Chapo Trap House

Book Launch: The Chapo Guide To Revolution by Chapo Trap House

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

The creators of the cult-hit podcast Chapo Trap House deliver a manifesto for everyone who feels orphaned and alienated—politically, culturally, and economically—by the lanyard-wearing Wall Street centrism of the left and the lizard-brained atavism of the right: there is a better way, the Chapo Way.

Book Launch: Qualification by David Heatley in conversation with Liana Finck

Book Launch: Qualification by David Heatley in conversation with Liana Finck

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

From the author of My Brain Is Hanging Upside Down, a new graphic memoir brimming with black humor, that explores the ultimate irony: the author’s addiction to 12-step programs.

Book Launch: Acid For The Children by Flea

Book Launch: Acid For The Children by Flea

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

The iconic bassist and co-founder of the Red Hot Chili Peppers tells his fascinating origin story, complete with all the dizzying highs and the gutter lows you’d want from an LA street rat turned world famous rock star.

Book Launch: Malaya by Cinelle Barnes

Book Launch: Malaya by Cinelle Barnes

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

From Cinelle Barnes, author of the memoir Monsoon Mansion, comes a moving and reflective essay collection about finding freedom in America.