Upcoming Events

DUMBO Improvement District and Street Plans presents:  TACTICAL URBANISM 2020: Iterative City Building Through Community Engagement

DUMBO Improvement District and Street Plans presents: TACTICAL URBANISM 2020: Iterative City Building Through Community Engagement

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

The DUMBO Improvement District and Street Plans present TACTICAL URBANISM 2020: Iterative City Building Through Community Engagement. The 21st Century city is at an existential crossroads. The resurgence of urban living has resulted in new open spaces, less crime, more transit options, and invigorated local stewardship, but it has also exacerbated traffic congestion, created housing shortages, and increased geographic inequality and vulnerability to disaster — both natural and man-made. To remain competitive, cities must address these challenges, and do so in an environment of increasingly complex regulations and constrained resources. As a response, one of the most compelling developments in urban design has been the explosion of interim “quick build” interventions to experiment with and expedite mobility and placemaking solutions for the public realm.

OFF SITE Book Discussion and Signing For Automating Humanity by Joe Toscano

OFF SITE Book Discussion and Signing For Automating Humanity by Joe Toscano

Camp David

powerHouse Books & Camp David’s new bookclub invite you to a Book Discussion and Signing For Automating Humanity by Joe Toscano.

Book Launch: Rituals for Every Day by Nadia Narain and Katia Narain Phillips

Book Launch: Rituals for Every Day by Nadia Narain and Katia Narain Phillips

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

RITUALS FOR EVERY DAY offers easy-to-follow advice on how to “press the pause button on modern day life,” by incorporating small moments of reflection and celebration for the everyday. The sharp-witted authors explain that rituals help you gain a sense of living your life with purpose and intention and how paying attention to your emotions if a form of self-care so many of us ignore. Rituals can be as simple as making your bed or as intimate as writing yourself a love letter. Readers will find rituals for new mothers, for accepting change and loss, for holidays, and much more.

Dumbo Lit Book Club: There There by Tommy Orange

Dumbo Lit Book Club: There There by Tommy Orange

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Join us in the Dumbo Lit Book Club, where we’ll be reading and discussing the acclaimed memoir THERE THERE by Tommy Orange.

With our cozy, swanky new lounge area, catching up on the latest books with your neighbors has never been so fun or easy.

Members get a 15% discount for purchase of the book club book at POWERHOUSE ARENA.

Book Launch: Negrophobia by Darius James

Book Launch: Negrophobia by Darius James

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Darius James’s scabrous, unapologetically raunchy, truly hilarious, and deeply scary Negrophobia, first published in 1992 and now back in print, is a wild-eyed reckoning with the mutating insanity of American racism. A screenplay for the mind, a performance on the page, a work of poetry, a mad mix of genres and styles, a novel in the tradition of William S. Burroughs and Ishmael Reed that is like no other novel, Negrophobia begins with the blonde bombshell Bubbles Brazil succumbing to a voodoo spell and entering the inner darkness of her own shiny being. Here crackheads parade in the guise of Muppets, Muslims beat conga drums, Negroes have numbers for names, and H. Rap Remus demands the total and instantaneous extermination of the white race through spontaneous combustion. By the end of it all, after going on a weird trip for the ages, Bubbles herself is strangely transformed.

More Events