DUMBO Improvement District and Street Plans presents:  TACTICAL URBANISM 2020: Iterative City Building Through Community Engagement

DUMBO Improvement District and Street Plans presents: TACTICAL URBANISM 2020: Iterative City Building Through Community Engagement

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

The DUMBO Improvement District and Street Plans present TACTICAL URBANISM 2020: Iterative City Building Through Community Engagement. The 21st Century city is at an existential crossroads. The resurgence of urban living has resulted in new open spaces, less crime, more transit options, and invigorated local stewardship, but it has also exacerbated traffic congestion, created housing shortages, and increased geographic inequality and vulnerability to disaster — both natural and man-made. To remain competitive, cities must address these challenges, and do so in an environment of increasingly complex regulations and constrained resources. As a response, one of the most compelling developments in urban design has been the explosion of interim “quick build” interventions to experiment with and expedite mobility and placemaking solutions for the public realm.

OFF SITE Book Discussion and Signing For Automating Humanity by Joe Toscano

OFF SITE Book Discussion and Signing For Automating Humanity by Joe Toscano

Camp David

powerHouse Books & Camp David’s new bookclub invite you to a Book Discussion and Signing For Automating Humanity by Joe Toscano.

Book Launch: Rituals for Every Day by Nadia Narain and Katia Narain Phillips

Book Launch: Rituals for Every Day by Nadia Narain and Katia Narain Phillips

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

RITUALS FOR EVERY DAY offers easy-to-follow advice on how to “press the pause button on modern day life,” by incorporating small moments of reflection and celebration for the everyday. The sharp-witted authors explain that rituals help you gain a sense of living your life with purpose and intention and how paying attention to your emotions if a form of self-care so many of us ignore. Rituals can be as simple as making your bed or as intimate as writing yourself a love letter. Readers will find rituals for new mothers, for accepting change and loss, for holidays, and much more.

Dumbo Lit Book Club: There There by Tommy Orange

Dumbo Lit Book Club: There There by Tommy Orange

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Join us in the Dumbo Lit Book Club, where we’ll be reading and discussing the acclaimed memoir THERE THERE by Tommy Orange.

With our cozy, swanky new lounge area, catching up on the latest books with your neighbors has never been so fun or easy.

Members get a 15% discount for purchase of the book club book at POWERHOUSE ARENA.

Book Launch: Negrophobia by Darius James

Book Launch: Negrophobia by Darius James

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Darius James’s scabrous, unapologetically raunchy, truly hilarious, and deeply scary Negrophobia, first published in 1992 and now back in print, is a wild-eyed reckoning with the mutating insanity of American racism. A screenplay for the mind, a performance on the page, a work of poetry, a mad mix of genres and styles, a novel in the tradition of William S. Burroughs and Ishmael Reed that is like no other novel, Negrophobia begins with the blonde bombshell Bubbles Brazil succumbing to a voodoo spell and entering the inner darkness of her own shiny being. Here crackheads parade in the guise of Muppets, Muslims beat conga drums, Negroes have numbers for names, and H. Rap Remus demands the total and instantaneous extermination of the white race through spontaneous combustion. By the end of it all, after going on a weird trip for the ages, Bubbles herself is strangely transformed.

Book Launch: A is for Advice by Ilana Stanger-Ross

Book Launch: A is for Advice by Ilana Stanger-Ross

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

There is an abundance of “advice” for pregnant and post-partum women on the internet—but what good has come from googling your worst-case-scenario fears? Written in the approachable and friendly tone of a best-friend blogger but informed by the insight of a Registered Midwife, A is for Advice seeks to comfort and inspire, providing realistic and soothing advice at a time when most women desperately seek out information.

Whether you prefer a water birth at home or a scheduled C-section in a hospital, whether you believe in painkillers or an all-natural labor, breast milk or formula, this book speaks to concerns common to all women as they approach birth and motherhood. Eschewing the “birth wars” for a women-centered, feminist perspective, A is for Advice does not argue for any one type of birth experience, but rather empowers each woman to be her own advocate. Through 26 letters of the alphabet (C is for Control; F is for Fear; W is for Water), this book offers a compelling call for well-informed, judgment-free, and forgiving birthing and mothering.

Book Launch: The Fruits of Your Labor: A Baby-Sized Guide To Your Baby's Size by Andrew Tobin

Book Launch: The Fruits of Your Labor: A Baby-Sized Guide To Your Baby's Size by Andrew Tobin

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

THE FRUITS OF YOUR LABOR is a board book that explores the size progression of a baby in the womb in relation to a fruit or vegetable.

Beginning at the size of a sweet pea and growing to the size of watermelon, each week of pregnancy is documented as a watercolor painting next to a fun, and also true fact about that specific fruit or vegetable, mixed with a playful quip. With its endearing illustrations and droll humor, THE FRUITS OF YOUR LABOR makes a perfect gift for expectant families.

Book Launch: TO OBAMA: With Love, Joy, Anger, and Hope by Jeanne Marie Laskas

Book Launch: TO OBAMA: With Love, Joy, Anger, and Hope by Jeanne Marie Laskas

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

In TO OBAMA, Jeanne Marie Laskas interviews President Obama, several of the letter writers themselves, and the White House staff who sifted through the powerful, moving, and incredibly intimate narrative of America during the Obama administration. The book features more than 100 original letters—some filled with fierce disappointment; others determined optimism—which deeply affected not only the president but also the policies he pursued.

Photos from recent events

Book Launch: Oculus by Sally Wen Mao, in conversation with Tavi Gevinson | January 17, 2019

Sally Wen Mao in conversation with Tavi Gevinson for the Launch of Oculus at our POWERHOUSE Lounge.

Valerio Piccolo presents his conceptual album @powerHouse Arena

Italian musician Valerio Piccolo performs his conceptual album Adam and the Animals written by Hiram Frederick “Rick” Moody III at our POWERHOUSE Lounge.

New York Times Exclusive Tour @powerHouse Arena | December 08, 2018

Seth Kugel gave a VIP Tour for The New York Times Travel section series “36 Hours in Brooklyn” at our POWERHOUSE Lounge.

Book Launch: Late Air & The Devoted | November 20, 2018

During this book launch night, Authors Jaclyn Gilbert and Blair Hurley discuss the slippery slopes of perfectionism in elite distance running and spirituality, interrogating both themes across questions of point-of-view and craft essential to writing their debut novels. Jaclyn Gilbert’s Late Air is the story of a marriage, cleft by loss and the unsaid, woven anew in a search for lost time; A hypnotic and daring debut,The Devoted asks what it takes, and what you’ll sacrifice, to find enlightenment.

NYC Lit Mag Celebration by Pigeon Pages| November 18, 2018

Our annual NYC Lit Mag Celebration, supported by Pigeon Pages and hosted by Alisson Wood, features some of our favorite writers representing our favorite literary magazines. We’re showcasing Elissa Schappell (Tin House), Joanna Scutts (Catapult), Justine Champine (No Tokens), Marisa Siegel (The Rumpus), and Amanda Claire Buckley (Pigeon Pages NYC).

SLICE Literary Exquisite Corpse | September 8, 2018
Open Mic Night in Moscow by Audrey Murray | July 24, 2018
Obama: An Oral History 2009-2017 by Brian Abrams | July 10, 2018
Books Beneath the Bridge with Chelsea Hodson & Julie Buntin | July 9, 2018
The Golden House by Salman Rushdie | June 28, 2018
Book Event & Reading: Bud Smith, Brian Alan Ellis, Jane-Rebecca Cannarella, & Keri Smith| June 26, 2018
Wavehouse by Alice Kaltman | June 16, 2018