Brooklyn Launch: More Than a Score: The New Uprising Against High-Stakes Testing
Brooklyn Launch: More Than a Score: The New Uprising Against High-Stakes Testing
THE POWERHOUSE ARENA [Dumbo]

A scathing expose, this collection of essays digs deep into the corrupt world of standardized testing and education in America itself.

NYC Launch: Unbecoming by Rebecca Scherm, with Anne Helen Petersen
NYC Launch: Unbecoming by Rebecca Scherm, with Anne Helen Petersen
THE POWERHOUSE ARENA [Dumbo]

For fans of Patricia Highsmith and Gillian Flynn, Rebecca Scherm’s mesmerizing and lyrical debut unfolds a tale about obsessive love and an art heist gone horribly wrong. Anne Helen Petersen joins her in conversation.

Paperback Launch: The Asylum by Simon Doonan, with Mickey Boardman
Paperback Launch: The Asylum by Simon Doonan, with Mickey Boardman
THE POWERHOUSE ARENA [Dumbo]

Former Creative Director at Barney’s and fashion insider Simon Doonan is back at powerHouse Arena for his latest essay collection, revealing how the denizens of the fashion industry can be crazier than the residents of the local nuthouse.

Book Launch: Party Like a President: True Tales of Inebriation, Lechery, and Mischief From the Oval Office by Brian Abrams and John Mathias
Book Launch: Party Like a President: True Tales of Inebriation, Lechery, and Mischief From the Oval Office by Brian Abrams and John Mathias
THE POWERHOUSE ARENA [Dumbo]

Humor writer Brian Abrams shares a plethora of true tales about our nation’s leaders and lechers, from a pill-popping Nixon to a tail-chasing Woodrow Wilson to a skinny-dipping JFK, and much more.

NYC Launch: The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl by Issa Rae
NYC Launch: The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl by Issa Rae
THE POWERHOUSE ARENA [Dumbo]

Based on her award-winning web series, Issa Rae’s essay collection recounts what it’s like to be a hapless introvert in a PC world that equates “black,” with “cool,” and the hilarious and refreshingly self-aware results that ensue.

Book Launch: I Am Sorry to Think I Have Raised a Timid Son by Kent Russell, with Karen Russel
Book Launch: I Am Sorry to Think I Have Raised a Timid Son by Kent Russell, with Karen Russel
THE POWERHOUSE ARENA [Dumbo]

Kent Russell’s riveting debut dissects the harrowing extremes American men will go to prove their masculinity, entwined with Russell’s own reflections on his relationship with his father. Karen Russell joins him in conversation.

Book Launch: FUDS: A Complete Encyclofoodia from Tickling Shrimp to Not Dying in a Restaurant by Kelly Hudson, Arthur Meyer, and Don Klein
Book Launch: FUDS: A Complete Encyclofoodia from Tickling Shrimp to Not Dying in a Restaurant by Kelly Hudson, Arthur Meyer, and Don Klein
THE POWERHOUSE ARENA [Dumbo]

Arthur Meyer shares his compendium of gag recipes that lampoon Brooklyn foodie culture with satisfying (and untasty!) results, with delicious treats for you included (thankfully, not from the cookbook)!