Book Launch: Eyes In The Sky by Arthur Holland Michel

Book Launch: Eyes In The Sky by Arthur Holland Michel

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Since before George Orwell’s classic 1984 introduced the quote “Big Brother is Watching You,” we’ve long been unsettled by the possibility of being watched, either by the government or private companies. But what if what was once fiction is now a reality? Journalist Arthur Holland Michel gives us the authoritative account of how the Pentagon developed Gorgon Stare, a godlike surveillance system that’s already patrolling American skies. Eyes In The Sky: The Secret Rise of Gorgon Stare and How It Will Watch Us All dives into this new technology that can track 1,000 moving targets at once. Big-data analysis can easily examine thousands of hours of footage, or even trace a target backward in time to find out where it came from—like playing a movie in reverse to see how it begins.

Dumbo Lit Book Club: Where The Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Dumbo Lit Book Club: Where The Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Join us in the Dumbo Lit Book Club, where we’ll be reading and discussing the acclaimed memoir BECOMING by Michelle Obama.

With our cozy, swanky new lounge area, catching up on the latest books with your neighbors has never been so fun or easy.

Members get a 15% discount for purchase of the book club book at POWERHOUSE ARENA.

Book Launch: The Lie by William Dameron

Book Launch: The Lie by William Dameron

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

The emails began: Do you know me? Or: Your face has meant a lot to me, and now I’ve found out it’s a lie. William Dameron discovered that a selfie of his had been stolen by strangers, and that his image and identity—that of a forty-year-old straight white male—had been used to hook countless women into believing lies on social networks and dating sites. Ironically, almost a decade prior, Dameron himself had been living a lie that had lasted for more than twenty years. His secret? He was a gay man, a fact he hid from his wife and two daughters for almost as long as he had hidden it from himself.

Book Launch: The Plus One by Sarah Archer

Book Launch: The Plus One by Sarah Archer

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Meet Kelly. Twenty-nine, go-getter, a brilliant robotics engineer, and perpetually single. So when her younger sister’s wedding looms and her attempts to find a date become increasingly cringeworthy, Kelly does the only logical thing: she builds her own boyfriend.

Ethan is perfect: gorgeous, attentive, and smart–all topped off by a mechanical heart endlessly devoted to her. Not to mention he’s good with her mother. When she’s with him, Kelly discovers a more confident, spontaneous version of herself–the person she’d always dreamed she could be. But as the struggle to keep Ethan’s identity secret threatens to detonate her career, Kelly knows she has to kiss her perfect man good-bye. There’s just one problem: she’s falling for him

Book Launch: Early Work by Andrew Martin

Book Launch: Early Work by Andrew Martin

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

With a keen irony reminiscent of Sam Lipsyte or Lorrie Moore, and a romantic streak as wide as Roberto Bolaño’s, Andrew Martin’s Early Work marks the debut of a writer as funny and attentive as any novelist of his generation.

Book Launch: So Real It Hurts by Lydia Lunch

Book Launch: So Real It Hurts by Lydia Lunch

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Through personal essays and interviews, No Wave musician and cultural icon Lydia Lunch claws and rakes at the reader’s conscience in this powerful, uninhibited feminist collection. Oscillating between provocative celebrations of her own defiant nature and nearly-tender ruminations on the debilitating effects of poverty, abuse, and environmental pollution, along with a visceral revenge fantasy against misogynistic men, Lydia Lunch presents her exploits without apology, daring the reader to judge her while she details the traumas and trials that have shaped her into the legendary figure she’s become.

Book Launch: Delayed Rays of a Star by Amanda Lee Koe

Book Launch: Delayed Rays of a Star by Amanda Lee Koe

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Amanda Lee Koe’s playful, wry prose guides the reader dexterously around murky questions of ego, persona, complicity, desire, and difference. Intimate and raw, Delayed Rays of a Star is a visceral depiction of womanhood–its particular hungers, its calculations, and its eventual betrayals–and announces a bold new literary voice.

Book Launch: The Completionist by Siobhan Adcock

Book Launch: The Completionist by Siobhan Adcock

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

In the tradition of The Handmaid’s Tale, The Completionist is speculative fiction at its very best: imaginative and propulsive, revealing our own world in bold and unexpected ways.

Books Beneath the Bridge with Marcy Dermansky & Julia Phillips

Books Beneath the Bridge with Marcy Dermansky & Julia Phillips

Granite Prospect at Brooklyn Bridge Park

Experience two essential new female voices while overlooking the iconic New York skyline at our annual Books Beneath the Bridge reading series! This year POWERHOUSE presents Marcy Dermansky & Julia Phillips. The outdoor event will feature a reading, followed by an audience Q&A and book signing.

Dumbo Lit Book Club: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Dumbo Lit Book Club: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Join us in the Dumbo Lit Book Club, where we’ll be reading and discussing the acclaimed memoir BECOMING by Michelle Obama.

With our cozy, swanky new lounge area, catching up on the latest books with your neighbors has never been so fun or easy.

Members get a 15% discount for purchase of the book club book at POWERHOUSE ARENA.

Book Launch: Strange Stars by Jason Heller

Book Launch: Strange Stars by Jason Heller

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

In Strange Stars, Jason Heller recasts sci-fi and pop music as parallel cultural forces that depended on one another to expand the horizons of books, music, and out-of-this-world imagery.

Book Launch: The Blue Period by Luke Jerod Kummer in conversation with Nellie Hermann

Book Launch: The Blue Period by Luke Jerod Kummer in conversation with Nellie Hermann

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

A riveting novel about the tragic romance that nearly destroyed a young Pablo Picasso—while granting him his first flight of creative genius. The author will be in conversation with Nellie Hermann, author of THE SEASON OF MIGRATION, about a young Van Gogh.

Book Launch: Shook One by Charlamagne Tha God

Book Launch: Shook One by Charlamagne Tha God

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Charlamagne Tha God, New York Times bestselling author of Black Privilege and always provocative cohost of Power 105.1’s The Breakfast Club, reveals his blueprint for breaking free from your fears and anxieties.

Book Talk: Bottle of Lies by Katherine Eban

Book Talk: Bottle of Lies by Katherine Eban

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Over ten years, across four continents and more than 240 interviews, investigative journalist and Fortune contributor Katherine Eban has uncovered nothing less than a public health crisis, in Bottle of Lies: The Inside Story of the Generic Drug Boom.

Book Launch: I've Seen The Future and I'm Not Going by Peter McGough

Book Launch: I've Seen The Future and I'm Not Going by Peter McGough

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

A memoir of New York in the 1980s and 1990s–a time of both enormous creativity and decadence–told by an artist who was at the center of it all, including the AIDS epidemic, and survived to tell the story.

Book Launch: I Will Destroy You by Nick Flynn

Book Launch: I Will Destroy You by Nick Flynn

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Beginning with a poem called “Confessional” and ending with a poem titled “Saint Augustine,” I Will Destroy You interrogates the potential of art to be redemptive, to remake and reform. But first the maker of art must claim responsibility for his past, his actions, his propensity to destroy others and himself.

Book Launch: Sweat the Technique by Rakim

Book Launch: Sweat the Technique by Rakim

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

The musician and Hip Hop legend—hailed as “the greatest MC of all time” and compared to Thelonious Monk—reimagines the writing handbook in this memoir and guide that incorporates the soulful genius, confidence, and creativity of a master artist.

Book Launch: CBD! by Amy Sohn

Book Launch: CBD! by Amy Sohn

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

CBD has insinuated itself into every aspect of our lives, from body oil to pet food. The cannabis derivative cannabidiol is an omnipresent cure-all that has gone from being “voguish” to “a mainstream panacea,” as The New York Times recently noted. And it’s a particular favorite of the crowd endemic to Brooklyn, the Bay Area and other similar urban environs.

Book Launch: The Chapo Guide To Revolution by Chapo Trap House

Book Launch: The Chapo Guide To Revolution by Chapo Trap House

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

The creators of the cult-hit podcast Chapo Trap House deliver a manifesto for everyone who feels orphaned and alienated—politically, culturally, and economically—by the lanyard-wearing Wall Street centrism of the left and the lizard-brained atavism of the right: there is a better way, the Chapo Way.

Book Launch: Malaya by Cinelle Barnes

Book Launch: Malaya by Cinelle Barnes

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

From Cinelle Barnes, author of the memoir Monsoon Mansion, comes a moving and reflective essay collection about finding freedom in America.

Photos from recent events

Visura Salon Series: Ahmed Benchemsi | June 11, 2019
Book Launch: Rabbits for Food By Binnie Kirshenbaum
Revolutionaries by Joshua Furst @ POWERHOUSE!
Book Launch: The Ghost Manuscript by Kris Frieswick
Book Launch: Negrophobia by Darius James in conversation with Michael Gonzales
Book Launch: Oculus by Sally Wen Mao, in conversation with Tavi Gevinson | January 17, 2019

Sally Wen Mao in conversation with Tavi Gevinson for the Launch of Oculus at our POWERHOUSE Lounge.

Valerio Piccolo presents his conceptual album @powerHouse Arena

Italian musician Valerio Piccolo performs his conceptual album Adam and the Animals written by Hiram Frederick “Rick” Moody III at our POWERHOUSE Lounge.

New York Times Exclusive Tour @powerHouse Arena | December 08, 2018

Seth Kugel gave a VIP Tour for The New York Times Travel section series “36 Hours in Brooklyn” at our POWERHOUSE Lounge.

Book Launch: Late Air & The Devoted | November 20, 2018

During this book launch night, Authors Jaclyn Gilbert and Blair Hurley discuss the slippery slopes of perfectionism in elite distance running and spirituality, interrogating both themes across questions of point-of-view and craft essential to writing their debut novels. Jaclyn Gilbert’s Late Air is the story of a marriage, cleft by loss and the unsaid, woven anew in a search for lost time; A hypnotic and daring debut,The Devoted asks what it takes, and what you’ll sacrifice, to find enlightenment.

NYC Lit Mag Celebration by Pigeon Pages| November 18, 2018

Our annual NYC Lit Mag Celebration, supported by Pigeon Pages and hosted by Alisson Wood, features some of our favorite writers representing our favorite literary magazines. We’re showcasing Elissa Schappell (Tin House), Joanna Scutts (Catapult), Justine Champine (No Tokens), Marisa Siegel (The Rumpus), and Amanda Claire Buckley (Pigeon Pages NYC).

SLICE Literary Exquisite Corpse | September 8, 2018
Open Mic Night in Moscow by Audrey Murray | July 24, 2018