THE POWERHOUSE ARENA — a laboratory for creative thought.

Home to world-renowned art book publisher powerHouse Books, the Arena is a gallery, boutique, book store, performance, and events space located at 37 Main Street, in New York City’s scenic DUMBO neighborhood. With soaring 24-foot ceilings on the 5,000 square foot ground floor (with over 175 linear-feet of glass frontage and amphitheater-style seating), the powerHouse Arena showcases a series of landmark exhibitions, performances, and controlled mayhem fusing the worlds of art, photography, design, fashion, pop culture, advertising, music, dance, film, and television into a glorious whirlwind of captivating spectacle. One of twelve places to see in The New York Times36 Hours: Photography in NYC!
Continue reading about the Arena »

“They’re consistently spot-on with book launch / talk programming, and they’re our go-to for literary events.”
— Brightest Young Things

“The powerHouse Arena is quickly becoming one of the best spots to hear authors read their work.”
— Time Out New York

“The powerHouse Arena has all the books you want, and none of the ones you don’t. It’s Great!”
— DC Pierson – Author of The Boy Who Couldn’t Sleep and Never Had To

“powerHouse events are all-out parties rather than staid readings. Attention is paid to pairing the right music with the right book-performers from Kool DJ Red Alert to the MisShapes have played book parties-and an open bar is almost always part of the equation.”
— Publishers Weekly

“If you are looking for great kids’ books, powerHouse Arena has done all of the work for you. They have assembled such a fun collection of books that you can not go wrong. Beautiful classics, new discoveries, unexpected treasures. Go there now.”
— Jon Scieszka – Author of The Stinky Cheese Man

“powerHouse Arena is one of the few places in the city where writers and readers can have a dialog in what has to be the most impressive reading space any indie bookstore offers. It’s a great reminder why independent bookstores are so necessary, and what their function is in a democracy; it gives all of us an opportunity, to openly discuss, in public, face to face questions of the day. The fact that they serve alcohol is, of course, no minor benefit.”
— Joe Meno – Author of The Great Perhaps

«»

Upcoming Events:

Brooklyn Launch: More Than a Score: The New Uprising Against High-Stakes Testing
Brooklyn Launch: More Than a Score: The New Uprising Against High-Stakes Testing
THE POWERHOUSE ARENA [Dumbo]

A scathing expose, this collection of essays digs deep into the corrupt world of standardized testing and education in America itself.

NYC Launch: Unbecoming by Rebecca Scherm, with Anne Helen Petersen
NYC Launch: Unbecoming by Rebecca Scherm, with Anne Helen Petersen
THE POWERHOUSE ARENA [Dumbo]

For fans of Patricia Highsmith and Gillian Flynn, Rebecca Scherm’s mesmerizing and lyrical debut unfolds a tale about obsessive love and an art heist gone horribly wrong. Anne Helen Petersen joins her in conversation.

Paperback Launch: The Asylum by Simon Doonan, with Mickey Boardman
Paperback Launch: The Asylum by Simon Doonan, with Mickey Boardman
THE POWERHOUSE ARENA [Dumbo]

Former Creative Director at Barney’s and fashion insider Simon Doonan is back at powerHouse Arena for his latest essay collection, revealing how the denizens of the fashion industry can be crazier than the residents of the local nuthouse.

Book Launch: Party Like a President: True Tales of Inebriation, Lechery, and Mischief From the Oval Office by Brian Abrams and John Mathias
Book Launch: Party Like a President: True Tales of Inebriation, Lechery, and Mischief From the Oval Office by Brian Abrams and John Mathias
THE POWERHOUSE ARENA [Dumbo]

Humor writer Brian Abrams shares a plethora of true tales about our nation’s leaders and lechers, from a pill-popping Nixon to a tail-chasing Woodrow Wilson to a skinny-dipping JFK, and much more.

NYC Launch: The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl by Issa Rae
NYC Launch: The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl by Issa Rae
THE POWERHOUSE ARENA [Dumbo]

Based on her award-winning web series, Issa Rae’s essay collection recounts what it’s like to be a hapless introvert in a PC world that equates “black,” with “cool,” and the hilarious and refreshingly self-aware results that ensue.

Book Launch: I Am Sorry to Think I Have Raised a Timid Son by Kent Russell, with Karen Russel
Book Launch: I Am Sorry to Think I Have Raised a Timid Son by Kent Russell, with Karen Russel
THE POWERHOUSE ARENA [Dumbo]

Kent Russell’s riveting debut dissects the harrowing extremes American men will go to prove their masculinity, entwined with Russell’s own reflections on his relationship with his father. Karen Russell joins him in conversation.

Book Launch: FUDS: A Complete Encyclofoodia from Tickling Shrimp to Not Dying in a Restaurant by Kelly Hudson, Arthur Meyer, and Don Klein
Book Launch: FUDS: A Complete Encyclofoodia from Tickling Shrimp to Not Dying in a Restaurant by Kelly Hudson, Arthur Meyer, and Don Klein
THE POWERHOUSE ARENA [Dumbo]

Arthur Meyer shares his compendium of gag recipes that lampoon Brooklyn foodie culture with satisfying (and untasty!) results, with delicious treats for you included (thankfully, not from the cookbook)!